WSDM2011 Awards

Best Paper Award (US $1,000, Sponsored by Microsoft)

Unbiased Offline Evaluation of Contextual-bandit-based News Article Recommendation Algorithms
Lihong Li, Wei Chu, John Langford and Xuanhui Wang

Best Student Paper Award (US $1,000, Sponsored by Google)

Correcting for Missing Data in Information Cascades
Eldar Sadikov, Montserrat Medina, Jure Leskovec and Hector Garcia-Molina

Best Poster Awards (US $250, Sponsored by WSDM2011)

Stochastic Query Covering
Aris Anagnostopoulos, Luca Becchetti, Stefano Leonardi, Ida Mele and Piotr Sankowski

Optimizing Two-Dimensional Search Results Presentation
Flavio Chierichetti, Ravi Kumar and Prabhakar Raghavan

Best Paper Candidates

Best Paper Award Committee

  • Eytan Adar, University of Michigan, USA
  • James Allan, University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA
  • Brian D. Davison, Lehigh University, USA
  • Mounia Lalmas, University of Glasgow, UK
  • Hang Li, Microsoft Research Asia, China
  • Edleno Silva de Moura, Universidade Federal do Amazonas, Brazil
  • Wolfgang Nejdl, L3S and University of Hannover, Germany
  • Qiang Yang, HKUST, Hong Kong

Here is a short description of how the Best Paper Award Committee selects the awards.

Each Senior PC members could put forward a nomination from the papers they were responsible for. We had were six papers nominated by the SPCs as best paper candidates. Next, a best paper award committee was formed, consisting of six SPC and PC members, who did not have conflict of interest with the nominated papers, as well as the two PC chairs.

Each member of the best paper award committee independently reviewed all six papers and then recommended two best paper candidates from the six papers. Based on these reviews, discussion and voting was conducted among the members, to select both best paper and best student paper award.

Past WSDM Awards